Ability to add a guest network is available in most configurations.

The benefit of having a guest network is that guests can reach the internet without accessing your personal Nokia WiFi network. The guest network is disabled by default.

Your guest network can be either:

  • Password-protected: Guests must enter a password to connect to the network (default option).
  • Open: No password is required to access the network, but you will need to grant internet access to each device after it connects (*available with most configurations).

Enable a guest network

  1. Tap the toggle button on the guest network in the home screen of your Nokia WiFi mobile app to enable the guest network. By default, a guest network is disabled.guestnetwork.PNG
  2. Tap on the guest network card to view the guest network details.

On the expanded card view you can:

Edit the guest network

Share the guest network

Enable devices to access the guest network

Edit the guest network 

  1. Tap the Edit icon to edit the guest network.
  2. On the Guest Network screen, you can edit the following:

Options

Description

Enable Network

Tap the toggle button to enable/disable the network.

Access Type

Tap Access Type. Select one of the following and tap Save:

  • Password: This is the default option. A password is required to access the guest network.
  • Open: If you select this option, a password is not required to access the guest network. (but you will need to approve the devices that connect before they can use the internet)

Name

Tap Name. The guest network has a default name based on the name of your Nokia WiFi network. You can edit the name. Then tap Save.

Up to 32 characters (letters, numbers and special characters) are allowed.

Password 

This option is visible only if the Access Type is Password.

Tap Password. The guest network has a default password 12345678. You can edit the password. Then tap Save.

A minimum of 8 characters is required.

Expires

Tap Expires. Select any of the following options to set the time the network will be available: Never, 1 Hr, 4 HRs, 8Hrs, 1 Day, 1 Week, 1 Month, 1 Year or Custom.

If you select Custom, select the date and time that you would like the network to expire.

Tap the check mark check.PNG at the top right corner to save the changes.

  1. Tap Share Network to share the network.

Share the guest network

The guest network can be shared via SMS, email, or other options in the share sheet. 

  1. Tap the Share icon to share the guest network.
  2. Select how you would like to share the details of the guest network. For example, text message, email, or other options in the share sheet.
  3. Your guest will receive the network name and password (if it is a password-protected network) to login to the network to access the internet.

Enable devices to access the guest network

  1. Tap the Edit icon to edit the guest network.
  2. On the Guest Network screen, swipe down to view the Guest Devices.
  3. Tap the toggle button next to a device to enable the device to access the guest network