Set up family profiles (parental controls)

Family profiles let you restrict internet connection for certain devices at specific times or to block specific websites. For example, you can group all of your kids’ devices and give them an internet “bedtime”.  

Notes: 

  • Family profiles are not available when using bridge mode.
  • You can create up to 64 groups and each group can have up to 254 devices

Set up a profile

  1. Tap Profiles at the bottom navigation on the home screen.
  2. In the Family Profiles screen, tap Create New (if setting up a profile for the first time) or Add Family Profile (if setting up additional profiles).
  3. In the Create a profile screen, type the name of the profile (for example, Kids) and tap Continue.
  4. Select the devices that will use this profile and tap the check mark check.png at the top right corner to save the profile. 
  5. On the profile screen, you can disable/enable  Internet Access access for all devices that are part of this profile anytime. The default is enabled.
  6. You can configure the following for the profile:

Note: By default, all devices are assigned to the Home profile. If you remove a device from any other profile, it will automatically be reassigned to the Home profile. Devices can only belong to one family profile.

Add or remove assigned devices

  1. Tap Assigned Devices. You will see the devices currently assigned to the profile.
  2. Tap Edit.
  3. Tap the check boxes to select or deselect the devices in the profile.
  4. Tap the check mark  check.png  at the top right corner to save the changes.   

Set up schedules

You can set up a schedule for a group that will automatically block internet access during specific times.

  1. Tap Schedules.
  2. In the Schedules screen, tap Create Schedule to create a new schedule for the selected profile.
  3. In the Create Schedule screen:
    • Type the name of the schedule (for example, the name of the activity, such as homework or dinner). 
    • Select the Start Time, End Time and Days of the week applicable to this schedule.
    • Tap the check mark check.png
    • at the top right corner to save the changes. The schedule is listed in the Schedules screen. By default, it is enabled.

4. To make changes, tap a schedule and select any of the following options:

  • Edit Schedule: Modify the schedule and tap the check mark  at the top right corner to save the website.
  • Delete Schedule: The schedule is deleted from the list. Tap Undo to undo the changes.

Set up bedtime

You can set up a bedtime for a group that will automatically block internet access during specific times.

  1. Tap Bedtime.
  2. In the Set a Bedtime screen, tap Set Bedtime.
  3. Turn off or on the bedtime that is set automatically.
  4. Tap the down arrow under the toggle button and tap Edit Bedtime.
  5. In the Edit Bedtime screen:
    • Select the Bedtime, Wake Up time and Days of the week when this bedtime is applicable.
    • Tap the check mark check.png at the top right corner to save the changes.

Set up website filtering

Use website filtering to restrict access of devices assigned to the family profile to specific websites.

  1. Tap Website Filtering.
  2. Tap Continue.
  3. Turn the Filtering option on. The Blocked Websites option displays.
  4. Tap the plus (+) sign to add a website you want to block.
  5. Enter the website URL and tap the check mark  on the top right corner to save the website. The website is listed under the Blocked Websites.
  6. To make changes, tap the ellipsis icon beside a website URL and select any of the following options:
    • Edit Website: Modify the website URL and tap the check mark check.png on the top right corner to save the website.
    • Delete Website: The website is deleted from the Blocked Websites list. Tap Undo to undo the changes.

Edit the profile

  1. In the Family Profiles screen, tap the profile you want to edit.  
  2. Tap the ellipsis icon at the top right corner of the profile screen.
  3. Tap Edit Profile.
  4. Type the new name and tap the check mark  mceclip0.png  at the top right corner to save the changes.

Delete the profile

  1. In the Family Profiles screen, tap the profile you want to delete.
  2. Tap the ellipsis icon at the top right corner of the profile screen.
  3. Tap Delete Profile.